Raw Vegan Coconut “Snickers” || Refined Sugar-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan

There is something about this time of year that makes me want to hibernate in my kitchen and whip up a storm of vegan treats! One of my favorite things in the world is creating something new and delicious with my little girl, and being able to teach her about the beauty of real foods and the transformation they can take when manipulated the right way. Cooking is an art, and I hope to pass that passion on to my daughter!

IMG_8674.JPG

Yesterday we came up with our own healthy vegan version of one of my husband’s all-time favorite candy bars – Snickers. The minute a Snickers hits your mouth you can no doubt identify it! Melting chocolate, gooey creamy caramel, crunchy peanuts.. what’s not to love?! Oh yeah, the fact that they’re packed full of unhealthy fats, added sugars, harmful chemicals, and unnatural preservative. But there is a way to still enjoy this classic “junk food” in a way that won’t sacrifice your health or your waist line!

IMG_8682.JPG

IMG_8681.JPG

 

Ingredients:
ALL ingredients used (aside from the dates and almond milk) are from Vitacost – I love their brand, and they ship straight to your home for a low cost. If you have trouble finding any of these ingredients I highly suggest ordering online from them!
For the chocolate –
1/4 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil
2-3 tbsp raw cacao or unsweetened cocoa powder (depending on how much of a “dark chocolate” flavor you like)
2 squirts of vanilla creme stevia

Melt the coconut oil and stir in the rest. Pour into small round containers and pop in the freezer for 20-30 minutes until solid.

Caramel –
10 large pitted medjool dates
1/3 cup raw almond milk
2 squirts of vanilla creme stevia or 1/2 tsp pure vanilla

Soak your dates in the almond milk/vanilla blend for 20 minutes and then blend in your food processor until completely smooth. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

IMG_8650.PNG
(This caramel is awesome for dipping, spreading, or drizzling on desserts!)

Mix a spoonful of your caramel with raw peanuts and add a dollop on top of each chocolate. Sprinkle with coconut flakes and enjoy!

These are 100% husband approved, which is not always an easy task! He has a very picky sweet tooth, and absolutely loves these little mounds of gold.

Today Maizy and I decided to use the leftovers to make “coconut snicker sandwiches” – they were a little bit incredible. Okay, maybe a lot a bit incredible.

IMG_8677.JPG

I hope you all try and enjoy!!
xo Sarah

25 thoughts on “Raw Vegan Coconut “Snickers” || Refined Sugar-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free, Gluten-Free, Vegan

  1. Hi! I’m not a vegan since I’ve always thought that some of the vegan food doesn’t look that appetizing. However, your posts are making me want to try some of the food that you’re making. Love your posts and what your goal is. I’m a Christian and I believe in healthy-eating.

    If you want, you can check out my blog. I discuss many things and I’ve just started. whatiliketodobysteve.wordpress.com I would love to have you follow my journey in life as I follow yours in food.

    Steve

    Like

    1. That’s awesome Steve, it’s nice to meet you!! My main goal is to show people how fun and versatile a vegan diet can be in hopes to inspire more to this lifestyle. I look forward to checking out your blog! Thanks for stopping by, have a wonderful day!

      Like

      1. You’re welcome! Your blog is very well-made and I love your About Page as well. My favorite post of yours is the “HOMEMADE MARBLED VEGAN CHOCOLATE ESPRESSO/CINNAMON VANILLA CREME BANANA BREAD.” That looked totally amazing!

        Keep on blogging!

        Steve

        Like

    1. Thank you Natalie! I agree, I always love the challenge of taking my husbands favorite junk foods and making healthy vegan versions. He’s always a good sport to try everything I make, even when it doesnt turn out quite so good! Haha.

      Like

  2. Hi Sarah! Thanks for the awesome recipe. It’s so encouraging to see such delicious-looking healthy and vegan treats. When I first became vegan, I thought I would have to give up all of my favorite foods. I am happy to see every day, how terribly wrong I was πŸ™‚ Lucie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Lucie!! I can totally relate! When I decided to go vegan a few years ago I was so worried that I wouldn’t be able to really enjoy fun foods anymore, but once I learned to cook and create with plant foods I realized how endless our options are! 😊 I hope you have a wonderful day!!
      xo Sarah

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

